Gathering of Presentation People

Gathering of Presentation People

Greetings, Presentation People.

As we announced in April, the core team for the Gathering of Presentation People has been carefully considering the potential implications of the changes and challenges caused by COVID-19 as we looked forward to gathering in September. In conversation with the leaders of each of our Conference congregations and after a great deal of thought and discernment, we have made some decisions regarding a September 2020 Gathering of Presentation People.

GATHERING POSTPONED

We have decided to POSTPONE an in-person gathering from September 2020 to September 23-25, 2021 (travel days September 22 & 26). We believe this is the most responsible decision. The gathering will still be held in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. If you have already registered for the in-person gathering, you will be receiving a communication so that you can indicate whether you still plan to attend in September 2021, whether you are no longer able to attend or whether you are not sure at this time. You do not need to re-register.

If you were not registered for the gathering in fall 2020, you are welcome to register for the new date at any time. The registration deposits will not be due until spring 2021. Individuals will continue to be able to register until April 2021, so there is not a rush, but we invite those who would like to register right away to do so. Please contact the registration contact for your congregation for more details and to register.

VIRTUAL GATHERING

We now have an opportunity to provide a Light the Lantern Virtual Gathering on the original dates, September 24, 25 and 26. This will be open to any Presentation Person who would like to participate; you do not have to attend the in-person gathering in 2021 to participate. This virtual event will take place September 24-26, 2020, and we are planning to meet for two and one-half hours on each of these dates. There is no charge for participation in this virtual gathering.

We will begin each day (September 24 – 26) at 8:30 a.m. Pacific / 10:30 a.m. Central / 11:30 a.m. Eastern / 1 p.m. Newfoundland and end at 11 a.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Central / 2 p.m. Eastern / 3:30 p.m. Newfoundland.

We invite you to register for this opportunity so that we can continue to send you updated information about this exciting opportunity. https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/3TLDYGQ

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask one of the core team members. While we may not know the answer at this time, we are happy to engage in conversation and keep the lines of communication open with each of you.

Blessings to all of you and prayers for health and safety. May you find comfort in knowing we stand together as Presentation People.

Gathering of Presentation People: Light the Lantern Core Team
Sister Rita Menart, Sister Vicky Larson, Sister Pam Chiesa, Lisa Olson, Jean Hannig


Who are Presentation People?
Presentation People are sisters, associates, employees, friends or partners who share in the Presentation mission and charism.

 We invite you to consider attending a historic gathering of Presentation People across North America! This is your opportunity to join 100-150 other Presentation People in beginning to write the next chapter in our Presentation story. Our goal is to have a mix of sisters, associates, employees and other partners.

At the gathering, individuals connected to Presentation will come together to see themselves in the larger Presentation story. Further, attendees will be an integral part of dreaming about the unfolding story of Presentation in our world today and into the future. 

We encourage you to consider attending the gathering because you have exhibited a desire to be a part of the Presentation mission and charism now and into the future. You have shown the desire and capacity to engage creatively with others to dream of new ways to promote Nano’s charism. In addition, you will be asked to bring home the work and spirit of the gathering to share with your communities and ministries.

Dates: September 23 – 25, 2021
Travel dates are September 22 and 26. Our hope is for participants to attend all of the conference, therefore, we request all to arrive on or before September 22 and depart on September 26.

Location: Holiday Inn, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Sioux Falls is a vibrant and growing community with a great deal to offer visitors. The Sioux Falls Regional Airport (FSD) offers travelers 1,750 daily seats on over 150 weekly flights with 10 direct flight destinations. Frontier, Allegiant, Delta, United and American all fly in and out of FSD and connections can be made to over 200 domestic cities as well as many international destinations.

Purpose: To continue to nurture transformative opportunities now and for future generations by widening the tent in providing contemplative, transformative formation experiences for Presentation People.

Costs: The total registration cost is $275. This includes all meals and programs on September 23-25. There is a $25 non-refundable registration fee and the balance of $250 will be due with final registration in April. Hotel rooms are $125 per night (including all taxes) – more information on booking your hotel room will come with final registration details. Transportation to/from the airport is free and provided by the hotel.

Questions? Contact the registration contact from your congregation today!

Aberdeen:Jane Schaffer jschaffer@presentationsisters.org
Dubuque: Michelle Klootwyk adminassist@dbqpbvms.org
New Windsor: Martha Otterstedt motterstedt@sistersofthepresentation.org
San Francisco: Sister Paula Baker pbaker@pbvmsf.org
Staten Island: Beth Hassel beth.hassel@villanova.edu
Union: Newfoundland & Labrador: Bernadette Doherty bdoherty@presentationsisters.ca
Union: United States: Lorelei Holt Loreleiholt@outlook.com